Best Fantasy Audiobooks.png

Best Fantasy Audiobooks

Let your imagination run wild with the top fantasy audio novels.

Fantasy is the genre that promises ultimate escape. It means magic, myth and unreality. Whether witches or gods, epic quests or chilling mystery, the one thing it takes to be classed as fantasy is that it cannot happen in real life. 

 

This seems fairly clear cut, right? If it isn’t real, it’s fantasy. And yet I debated whether there were further criteria. For example, when one thinks of fantasy, it often brings to mind adventure and action. Is there any room therefore for ghosts and the paranormal? And horror in general? However there was one genre that posed more crossovers than all others: Science fiction. 

 

Fantasy and science fiction are not only usually paired, but are often conflated. For example, the list of best fantasy books on Audible is under the umbrella of fantasy and sci fi. I must admit that this distinction hasn’t always been obvious in creating this collection. I’ve worked on the basis that sci fi means advanced technology, usually with an element of alternative or future reality.

Top Fantasy Audiobooks

1

The Midnight Library

By

Matt Haig

Read By

Carey Mulligan

What if you could try again? Not just once, but multiple times? What if you could remake every decision in your life until you got it right? In The Midnight Library, Nora is given just such a chance. Read by the incomparable Carey Mulligan, this fantasy takes a deep dive into the nature of regret.

2

The Hunger Games

By

Suzanne Collins

Read By

Carolyn McCormick

Strange and terrible creatures, fantastical environments under human control and technological wonders beyond belief. These marvels and more are used as weapons against the people of Panem, the futuristic nation built upon the ruins of what was North America. It’s a harsh, unforgiving dystopia, where children are forced to fight to the death as tributes and power is wielded by a sinister elite.

3

Year One

By

Nora Roberts

Read By

Julia Whelan

The sickness wipes out most of humanity, throwing the world in chaos. But after the horror and fear, the magick awakens. People from all walks of life are transformed into fairies and witches, pixies and dwarves. But as with any great power, what can be good and pure can be used for evil. This is the year the battle lines are drawn.

4

How High We Go in the Dark

By

Sequoia Nagamatsu

Read By

Jason Culp, Stephanie Komure, Micky Shiloah, Joe Knezevich, Brianna Ishibashi, Kotaro Watanabe, Matthew Bridges, Kurt Kanazawa, Greg Watanabe, Jeanne Sakata, MacLeod Andrews, Keisuke Hoashi, Brian Nishii, Julia Whelan

This 2022 release is an instant favourite amongst the great and the good fantasy audiobooks. Told in a collection of stories rather than a single narrative, author Sequoia Nagamatsu knits together unusual genres, disparate characters and outlandish ideas to portray a single, utterly unique image of a world ravaged by a plague. Sometimes haunting, sometimes funny, always thought-provoking, this is a one of a kind gem.

5

Gods Behaving Badly

By

Marie Phillips

Read By

Glen McCready

If you have ever wondered about what if God was one of us, this tale of Greek deities living in the 21st century posits a theory or two. Expect much hilarity and quite a lot of explicit content in this entry on the list of best fantasy audiobooks.

Best of the Rest: Fantasy Audiobooks

More magic and mayhem right this way, with plenty more from the world of fantasy fiction. 

11.22.63

By

Read By

Stephen King

Craig Wasson

If Stephen King Wrote Back To The Future... Oh, Wait.

Belladonna

By

Read By

Adalyn Grace

Kristin Atherton

A Seductive Mystery, A Spellbinding Performance

Bird Box

By

Read By

Josh Malerman

Katharine Mangold

Chilling, Captivating, Unforgettable. Perfect for fans of The Road.

Cage of Souls

By

Read By

Adrian Tchaikovsky

David Thorpe

Imagine Mark and Jez of Peep Show living their best/worst lives in a futuristic, post-apocalyptic hellscape with monsters and mutants. That just about covers it...

Chocky

By

Read By

John Wyndham

Daniel Weyman

An Understated Gem With A Dr Who Vibe

Differently Morphous

By

Read By

Yahtzee Croshaw

Yahtzee Croshaw

Joyous, Funny, Smart. A Douglas Adams vibe.

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits

By

Read By

David Wong

Christy Romano

Grisly violence, sarcasm and maniacal supervillains have never been so hilariously lovable.

Gods Behaving Badly

By

Read By

Marie Phillips

Glen McCready

Funny, witty, cheeky and unabashedly x-rated.

Gray: Part III

By

Read By

Lou Cadle

Lauren Fortgang

The perfect ending to this gripping trilogy

Hekla’s Children

By

Read By

James Brogden

Matthew Lloyd Davies

Darkly Thrilling, Compelling, But Complicated

Her Majesty’s Royal Coven

By

Read By

Juno Dawson

Nicola Coughlan

Officially Under HMRC’s Spell - Bring On Book 2!

How High We Go in the Dark

By

Read By

Sequoia Nagamatsu

Jason Culp, Stephanie Komure, Micky Shiloah, Joe Knezevich, Brianna Ishibashi, Kotaro Watanabe, Matthew Bridges, Kurt Kanazawa, Greg Watanabe, Jeanne Sakata, MacLeod Andrews, Keisuke Hoashi, Brian Nishii, Julia Whelan

High Praise for this Darkest of Tales

Jam

By

Read By

Yahtzee Croshaw

Yahtzee Croshaw

Genius Absurdist Hilarity

Life After Life

By

Read By

Kate Atkinson

Fenella Woolgar

Simply stunning.

Malorie

By

Read By

Josh Malerman

Katherine Mangold

Just as good as the first.

Mirrorland

By

Read By

Carole Johnstone

Katie Leung

Haunting story, beautifully read.

Mockingjay

By

Read By

Suzanne Collins

Carolyn McCormick

The darkest of the trilogy

New Teeth

By

Read By

Simon Rich

Fred Berman

Braces yourself for a wild ride

No Gods, No Monsters

By

Read By

Cadwell Turnbull

Dion Graham

Brilliant In Many Ways

Ready Player One

By

Read By

Ernest Cline

Wil Wheaton

This made my geeky, 80s child, sci-fi fan, pop culture loving inner self sing.

Scythe

By

Read By

Neal Shusterman

Greg Tremblay

An Ode To Death with Tones of The Hunger Games.

Seeing Other People

By

Read By

Mike Gayle

David Morley Hale

Funny, Engaging, But Depressing

Swan Song

By

Read By

Robert R. McCammon

Tom Stechschulte

A gripping page turner. Similar to King's The Stand.

The Apocalypse Seven

By

Read By

Gene Doucette

Erin Bennett, Kiff VandenHeuvel, Juliette Goglia, Zeno Robinson, Will Collyer, Grace Rolek, Farah Merani

Exceptional. Beautifully Written, Brilliantly Read. The TV show Lost, but with a proper ending.

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

By

Read By

Suzanne Collins

Santino Fontana

Guess Who's Back?

The Change

By

Read By

Kirsten Miller

January LaVoy

Nora Roberts Meets Liane Moriarty

The Darkest Minds

By

Read By

Alexandra Bracken

Amy McFadden

Great Beginning, Great End

The Grace Year

By

Read By

Kim Liggett

Emily Shaffer

Creepy and evocative.

The Haunted

By

Read By

Bentley Little

Dan Butler

Classic Haunted House Done Well

The Haunting of Hill House

By

Read By

Shirley Jackson

Bernadette Dunne

Spooky in the best possible way.

The Hunger

By

Read By

Alma Katsu

Kristen Potter

Horror and history seamlessly combined.

The Hunger Games

By

Read By

Suzanne Collins

Carolyn McCormick

Love, love, love.

The Institute

By

Read By

Stephen King

Santino Fontana

Peak Sci-Fi Escapism Albeit Too Long

The Invited

By

Read By

Jennifer McMahon

Amanda Carlin, Justine Eyre

Good Story Not Supported By Performance.

The Midnight Library

By

Read By

Matt Haig

Carey Mulligan

Mesmerising Story, Powerfully Delivered by Carey Mulligan and with a Kate Atkinson Feel

The Night Sister

By

Read By

Jennifer McMahon

Cassandra Campbell

Another gripping masterpiece by McMahon, only enhanced by Cassandra Campbell’s flawless narration.

The One I Left Behind

By

Read By

Jennifer McMahon

Julia Whelan

Tragic, Horrifying, Fascinating

The Snow

By

Read By

Flint Maxwell

Matt Godfrey

Chilling - Want To Listen On

The Time Traveler's Wife

By

Read By

Audrey Niffenegger

Fred Berman, Phoebe Strole

Staggeringly Beautiful. Incomparable

The Winter People

By

Read By

Jennifer McMahon

Cassandra Campbell, Käthe Mazur

Had to pick up my jaw from where I had dropped it.

Year One

By

Read By

Nora Roberts

Julia Whelan

X-Men Meets Once Upon A Time