Audiobook Review

The World Gives Way: A Novel

By
Marissa Levien
Untitled design (6)_edited.jpg
Performance
Overall
Stars_edited.jpg

Excellent, Unforgettable, Best of the nest

Very good, thoroughly enjoyed, 

Good, Solid, Enjoyed many aspects

STAR RATINGS GUIDE

If Margaret Atwood and George Lucas had directed The Day After Tomorrow.

THE BIRDICT

💛 Secrets, injustices and a struggle for freedom play out as a futuristic dystopia spectacularly unravels.

🧡 Gird your loins, strap in, and keep your hands firmly inside the car because the stakes are set to 100 from the word go.

💜 The mix of action and intrigue with thought provoking commentary on social mobility and prejudice is so effortless it is surely the stuff of magic.

💚 While most of the plot moves at a steady pace, Myrra’s stay at the hotel felt slower and out of step, almost like the eye of the storm.

SQUAWKING THE TALK

🎧 Christine Lakin offers a subtly wistful performance that allows the writing to shine through.

BIRDS OF A FEATHER: SIMILAR AUDIOBOOKS

No spoilers for this one. Maybe next time!
+_edited.png
-.png
 

The World Gives Way: A Novel

THE BLURB

In a near-future world on the brink of collapse, a young woman born into servitude must seize her own freedom in this glittering debut with a brilliant twist—perfect for fans of Station Eleven, Karen Thompson Walker, and Naomi Alderman.

In fifty years, Myrra will be free.

Until then, she's a contract worker. Ever since she was five, her life and labor have belonged to the highest bidder on her contract—butchers, laundries, and now the powerful, secretive Carlyles.

But when one night finds the Carlyles dead, Myrra is suddenly free a lot sooner than she anticipated—and at a cost she never could have imagined. Burdened with the Carlyles' orphaned daughter and the terrible secret they died to escape, she runs. With time running out, Myrra must come face to face with the truth about her world—and embrace what's left before it's too late.

A sweeping novel with a darkly glimmering heart, The World Gives Way is an unforgettable portrait of a world in freefall, and the fierce drive to live even at the end of it all.