Audiobook Review

Sometimes I Lie

By
Alice Feeney
Untitled design (6)_edited.jpg
Performance
Overall
Stars_edited.jpg

Excellent, Unforgettable, Best of the nest

Very good, thoroughly enjoyed, 

Good, Solid, Enjoyed many aspects

STAR RATINGS GUIDE

Flawed? Yes. But Eerie and Captivating

THE BIRDICT

🧡 The title makes no secret of the fact that Amber Reynolds is an unreliable narrator. And yet I was sucked into her web like an inattentive fly. As Amber cannot remember what happened, we find out as she does, with perfect pacing.

💚 What I would say is that it requires a few too many suspensions of disbelief and some character actions are not believable. It is nevertheless incredibly entertaining and pays off with one nutty twist. One of the strongest aspects of this is the transition between dream and reality. It’s so vivid that it’s crying out to be made into a series/film.

💜 Listen to this for the well-crafted mystery and creepy happenings.

SQUAWKING THE TALK

🎧 Stephanie Racine is Alice Feeney’s go-to narrator and with good reason. Her voice has a ghostly quality in this, which works well. Plus she absolutely slays the creepy parts. And yet she manages to convey more standard dialogue with expression and energy.

BIRDS OF A FEATHER: SIMILAR AUDIOBOOKS

A few too many very dangerous narcissists/sociopaths/psychopaths (not sure - not a doctor) in close proximity for this to be completely believable. But that’s not too egregious. However, it did feel like a lot of this might have been resolved by children and parents talking. Having said that, I’m so turned around as to who is evil and when, I might be totally wrong.
+_edited.png
-.png
 

Sometimes I Lie

THE BLURB

"My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me. 1. I'm in a coma. 2. My husband doesn't love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won't be able to put this new thriller down. Set to be the most talked about book in 2017, it's perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Widow."