By

Read By

Karissa Vacker, Erin Bennett

Length

9 hrs and 5 mins

Audiobook Review

Red Clocks

Genre(s)

Leni Zumas

Overall
Performance

Stars_edited.jpg

Excellent, Unforgettable, Best of the nest

Very good, thoroughly enjoyed, 

Good, Solid, Enjoyed many aspects

STAR RATINGS GUIDE

THE BIRDICT

heart_edited.png

SQUAWKING THE TALK

SHALL I COMPARE THEE TO...​​

speech marks_edited.png
+.png
-.png
 
info_edited.png

ABOUT

Red Clocks

THE BLURB

Five women. One question: what is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilisation is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling homeopath, or 'mender', who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation and hope in tumultuous - even frightening - times.