By

Read By

Julia Whelan, Kirby Heyborne

Length

19 hrs and 18 mins

Audiobook Review

Gone Girl

Gillian Flynn

Overall
Performance

Julia Whelan as I’ve never heard her before

Stars_edited.jpg

Excellent, Unforgettable, Best of the nest

Very good, thoroughly enjoyed, 

Good, Solid, Enjoyed many aspects

STAR RATINGS GUIDE

THE BIRDICT

heart_edited.png
Tricky this. I imagine everyone knows the spoiler by now. If not, go. Go and listen to this book. Cancel all plans for the foreseeable and don’t look for spoilers. I’ll be here when you’re finished.

Well? I know. Yep, it’s a shocker. It took me a day to pick my jaw up from the ground. The film’s good too btw. Overall this sticks out as one of the best thrillers I’ve read.

SQUAWKING THE TALK

Both Julia Whelan and Kirby Heyborne are excellent in this. But seriously, wow. Julia Whelan is outstanding. I’ve always enjoyed her performances, but her depiction of Amy is masterful.

SHALL I COMPARE THEE TO...​​

speech marks_edited.png
There’s no point in issuing a comparison. With the exception of The Girl on the Train, there isn’t a book out there that has served as more frequent reference point. As in, ‘Perfect for fans of Gone Girl’.

A comparison of a different kind is the one to the real life case of Scott and Lacey Peterson. The connection between the two is part of what made the story so interesting, although it did not inspire this.
+.png
-.png
That turning point. That moment when we meet the real Amy, is one of the stand out moments in my listening history. The framing of Nick Dunn is so brilliantly conceived. I have always felt that it plays on the doubts of other convictions in controversial instances like that of Scott Peterson. It's that shadow of a doubt that's always there.
 
info_edited.png

ABOUT

Gone Girl

THE BLURB

What are you thinking, Amy? The question I've asked most often during our marriage, if not out loud, if not to the person who could answer. I suppose these questions storm cloud over every marriage: What are you thinking? How are you feeling? Who are you? What have we done to each other? What will we do? Just how well can you ever know the person you love?

These are the questions that Nick Dunne must ask himself on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police immediately suspect Nick. Amy's friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn't true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they aren't his. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what really did happen to Nick's beautiful wife? And what was in that half-wrapped box left so casually on their marital bed? In this novel, marriage truly is the art of war.